CW17- I’ll Be the Doctor

         Last Thursday our class came up with a list of hospital terms which were;  Sterile, IV, Crutches, Patient, Anesthesia, Doctor, Stretcher, Monitors, Emergency, and Stitches…    

This week, we were told to create a scene using every one of these words but it could not take place in a hospital setting. I liked the idea of writing poetry for this assignment and so I have done just that. Also the required terms are underlined…    Enjoy! 

**********

 

    • Tossing doctor bills away
    • I pushed back from the desk
    • I’ll have to find some other day
    •     To finish all the rest
    • Leaning on my crutches
    • I hobbled around the door
    • But strength always flushes
    • From my body, while at war
    • The anesthesia effect was wearing off
    • Which made it hard to walk
    • I stumbled as I stifled a cough
    •                              And sidestepped a   tower
    •                                                            of
    •                                                             play
    •                                                               blocks
    • In the living room I entered
    • To a young visitor on the ground
    • Past him my IV’s were centered
    •   On monitors to which were bound
    • My grandson stopped his busy play
    •   To watch what I was doing
    •                                            Hooking up to the sterile display
    •                                                                      I could see his questions brewing
    • What is that grandpa? He queried
    • With those curious blue eyes
    • Though I was quite un-worried
    • His uncertainty began to rise
    • How come you wear that weird TV?
    • And what do you use it for?
    • I answered, Its some medicine for me
    • So I won’t feel pain anymore
    • But how will you run around in that thing
    • And how long ‘till you get well?
    •                      Well buddy I started answering
    • That’s something only time will tell
    • Well don’t wait! He exclaimed

    •           I’ll tell you right now!

    •                                    From any arguing, I restrained

    •                                                      Instead, raised my left brow

    • Emergency! He yelled
And laid out a pretend towel stretcher
    • My patient’s leg is all swelled!
    • Just lay down right here Sir!
    • Into this, I felt rather forced
    • And asked him about his plans
    • All you need is stitches of course
    •                                                Now be brave like a man!
    •  

      I nodded from his new infirmary

    • And unlike most people

    • I never flinched through the surgery

    • Done with yarn and plastic needle
    • He tied the end in a nice little bow
    • And inspected his work until assured
    •                                     Now I’m done. See? There you go!
  •                                                                    He looked up at me and smiled…  Cured!

Leave a comment